Get Your Free eBook

Your information is kept private.

The Next NAMW Member Teleseminar

  • pamela-jane 5 Tips to Help You Write a Gripping Memoir - Pamela Jane October Member Teleseminar October 21, 2016 11 AM PDT    12 PM MDT    1 PM CDT   2 PM EDT As memoir writers, we know that not only do we have to find the threads of memory and truth, we also must master classic principles of story structure in order to capture and hold the reader’s attention.  […]

Women’s National Book Association

womens-national-book-association9/15/2016 through 1/15/2017

Fifth Annual Writing Contest

Be a part of history:

A dynamic organization of women and men in all fields of the literary world, The Women’s National Book Association is accepting submissions for its Annual Writing Contest

After nearly 100 years celebrating published authors, extraordinary book women and honoring independent bookstores, the WNBA is celebrating emerging writers.

Submission: open to WNBA members and non-members
Submission guidelines and information HERE


Awards: First place winners receive $250.00. There will be 4 awards in each category, 1, 2, 3, and Honorable Mention.

All 4 winners will be published in a special Contest Edition of the WNBA’s National Newsletter, “The Bookwoman.”

Winners announced May 1, 2017. All winners to be posted on the Women’s National Book Association website.

Fiction: 3,000 word maximum length, no theme required

Creative Nonfiction/ Memoir: 2,500 word maximum

Poetry: 3-5 pages of poetry (double-spaced)

To learn more about the WNBA:

Latest Articles

  • The Soul Making Keats Memoir Contest The Soul Making Keats Memoir Contest—Please submit your work! - I’ve enjoyed judging the memoir vignette competition for the last several years as a sponsor.  What I love is being immersed in worlds other than my own, and being invited into the hearts and lives of others. I urge you to edit your work, and even get it edited by a professional before you submit. […]
  • robin-brooks Choosing a Book Designer that Fits Your Soul and the Soul of Your Memoir - By Robin Brooks, The Beauty of Books You have written your memoir. You have put your heart and soul into it. It is your life. It is your breath. It is who you are. Now it is time to put your memoir out into the world. What is the process for doing this? Who are […]
  • Brain on Fire What Made Susannah Cahalan’s Brain on Fire a Best-selling Memoir? - Join us for our new best-seller short course: How to Write a Memoir That Changes Lives Class dates: Sept 19, Sept 26, Oct 3, Oct 10 Mondays at 4pm PT | 5pm MT | 6pm CT | 7pm ET All classes are one hour and we record all sessions so that you can watch the […]

Fall 2016 Telesummit: The Heart and Soul of Memoir

Date: November 11, 2016

Time: 10am-2pm PST / 1pm-5pm EST

As memoir writers, we know the challenge we face—how to explore the truths of our story while balancing artistry and accuracy. How to write a good story that carries the heft of lived experience as we explore our memories. We write about ourselves, family, and those we love, but encounter questions about privacy and the ethics of writing about others. We want to create a vibrant story that brings to life the world we have lived and the moments of meaning we want to share with others, but it's a long project and we struggle with the process—the memories that come up and the challenges of technique and craft. An authentic, well-written memoir can be a way to create deep healing and change, but we have to bare our souls to perfect strangers in that process. This takes such courage, and I'm honored, as the founder of NAMW, to be part of such a vibrant and courageous community of writers.

The NAMW Fall Telesummit, The Heart and Soul of Memoir, brings together craft, inspiration, and art. We will hear from Robin Brooks, a book designer, about how to think of your story and your book as a whole artistic creation. Helen Sedwick, a literary attorney, will put your mind to ease as we discuss how to tell your truths freely and not procrastinate because of legal and ethical worries. Information is your friend. The information in Lisa Cron's new book, Story Genius, will help you find the core of your story, and you’ll learn more about the skills to create a memoir that reaches into the hearts of others. Brooke Warner and Linda Joy Myers will share our new anthology with you, Magic of Memoir: Inspiration for the Writing Journey. We compiled essays from memoirists who explore the process of writing memoir and how they dealt with the challenges and found the magic in drawing from life to create art. We also interviewed well-known memoirists, including Mary Karr, Elizabeth Gilbert, Mark Matousek, Jessica Valenti, Azar Nafisi, and others. We’ll talk about the powerful themes and messages that propel us to write, reveal tough truths, and change the world with our books.

Session 1—Book Design

10-11 am PST | 11-12 am MST |  12-1 pm CST | 1-2 pm EST

How a Book Designer Supports your Soul and the Soul of Your Memoir

Robin Brooks

Session 2—Legal and Ethical Issues in Memoir

11-12 am PST | 12-1 pm MST | 1-2  pm CST | 2-3 pm EST

How to Tell the Truth Without Ending up in Court

Helen Sedwick

Session 3—Story Craft

12 pm PST | 1 pm MST | 2 pm CST | 3 pm EST

The Heart of a Great Story

Lisa Cron

Session 4—Inspiration on Your Memoir Journey

1-2 pm PST   2-3 pm MST   3-4 pm CST   4-5 pm EST

The Magic of Memoir—What Is It?

Linda Joy Myers and Brooke Warner

 Sign up here for our Fall 2016 Telesummit!  

 Receive call access plus the free audio download.

 Member Pricing - $29


 Non-Member Pricing - $39

Learn more here

  • Memoir in 6 Months

    Write Your Memoir in Six Months offers the support, encouragement, and accountability you’re looking for to write the book that’s in your heart. Brooke Warner and Linda Joy Myers are experienced memoir teachers and passionate believers in the magic of memoir. It's magical to tell your story—to bring to life something that’s lived inside you. It's so gratifying to offer your personal truth to others.
    Read More
  • Coaching

    I love working with writers! The creative process is a place where we drop into our true creative selves and make a difference in the world.

    To stay focused and make real progress, you need three things:

    1) Support in deciding what your story is about—themes & topics.
    2) Feedback to develop your skills—story structure, scenes, dialogue, character development, tone, and voice.
    3) Help with navigating writing & editing to publishing and marketing.
    Read More
  • Speaking Engagements

    Linda Joy Myers is available to speak at your next conference or event. The audience will learn how writing can deepen self-awareness and help them develop a new perspective on their past so they can move gracefully into their future. Audience members will take with them a feeling of empowerment, knowing they are in control of their own destiny. Linda Joy’s inspirational message of finding courage, learning forgiveness, and focused self-listening can change their lives. Read More
  • 1

New Product

This self-guided course leads you from your desire to write a memoir to building the skills to get started writing right away. You learn what a memoir is, how to think about themes, how to write compelling scenes, & how to develop your structure. In less than four weeks, you will have a plot, an outline for your book, and scenes you can develop as you start to write. If you like to work at your own pace and take time to develop your ideas, this course will help you learn writing skills & achieve your goals...
Learn more

Our Next NAMW Roundtable

  • betty-hafner October Roundtable Discussion – FREE to All - What I Learned from Screenwriters about Structuring a Memoir Betty Hafner October 6, 2016 4 PM PDT  5 PM MDT  6 PM CDT  7 PM EDT   You may have heard the question, “What’s the better training for writers—an MFA or New York?”  Well, neither for me. When I started writing in earnest, I chose […]

This Month's Featured Member

  • cindimichaellowres Featured NAMW Member – Cindi Michael - The Sportscaster’s Daughter Millions of people watched sportscaster George Michael each week on the Sports Machine, including sometimes his daughter Cindi. Cindi Michael appears to live a charmed life: she’s happily married, has a successful career, and is a loving mom to two wonderful children. Yet she longs for a father who hasn’t spoken to […]