Michael Larsen and Elizabeth Pomada

Michael Larsen and Elizabeth Pomada

Agents and Memoir Writers—Who, What, When, Why, and How

Date: Friday, January 22 , 2010
Times: 11 AM PST / 12 PM MST / 1 PM CST / 2 PM EST
Cost: FREE FOR NAMW MEMBERS (you will receive the call information via email as the event draws near)
Do you wish to become an NAMW Member? Click here to become a member now!

Please join Michael Larsen and Elizabeth Pomada from the Larsen-Pomada Literary Agency as they talk about what memoir writers need to know with Linda Joy Myers. They will discuss the role of the literary agent, publishing realities, and how you can shape your writing life so you will be ready for what the agents need to help make you a successful published author.

These are the kinds of questions memoir writers ask agents:

  • What do agents mean by “platform” and how important is it to you?
  • Does my book have to be finished?
  • How does it work to find an agent and hire them?
  • How necessary is an agent if I want a small publisher?
  • Do I need an agent if I’m self-publishing?
  • What kind of books are you looking for?
  • Does a memoir need a proposal?

An important gatekeeper between writers and publishers is the literary agency, or a literary agent. Please join us for this informative teleseminar arranged for our NAMW members to find out more about literary agents, what they need, and how they connect the writer with the publishing world.

Bios:
Michael Larsen – Elizabeth Pomada Literary Agents is Northern California’s oldest literary agency, helping writers launch careers since 1972.

Members of the Association of Authors’ Representatives, Elizabeth, who represents commercial and literary fiction plus narrative non-fiction, and Michael, who handles prescriptive non-fiction, have sold hundreds of books to more than one hundred publishers. They are also the co-founders of the San Francisco Writers Conference and the Writing for Change Conference. Laurie McLean joined the agency in 2005 to represent adult genre fiction and children’s middle-grade and young adult books. Click here to visit their website.