Fiction Magic:Transform your memoir with the miracle tool of good fiction writing

Price: $175.00/non-members | $155.00/NAMW members
Workshop period: January 26 through February 16, 2010 (4 weeks)

First class will meet by phone for one hour on January 26, 2010
Times: 10 AM PST / 11 AM MST / 12 PM CST / 1 PM EST

[table "37" not found /]

Memoir writers may trade in facts, but the tools of fiction add important qualities to a compelling narrative.  From the material of your own life, create the pulse-pounding drama of a good story using strong, powerful scenes balanced with effective, but judiciously placed exposition. Memoirists often need help learning how to bridge the gap between “this happened, and then this happened” to developing craft skills that shape a powerful, but true, story. In this workshop, you’ll receive one live workshop with the group, then specific feedback by email tailored for you and your writing style. Take this opportunity to get personal instruction from an expert on creating writing that zings.

In this 4 week class you’ll learn:

  • How to create a stylized, “sexier” version of real events without lying
  • How to create a “character” or persona out of yourself and demonstrate this persona effectively in scenes
  • How to find the “plot” of your personal narrative
  • How to wield and balance musings with action

Class Details

The workshop is a four week workshop with the first week’s lesson by phone on January 26, 10 AM PST. When you sign up, you will be sent the phone number for the class, and Jordan will contact you about other details.

The remaining three lessons will be delivered by email on Sunday of that week’s class.
Each week’s material consists of one lesson and two assignments, to be done at the student’s own pace and turned in by Friday at 8pm Pacific Time. Instructor will return assignments within 4 days of receipt.

The feedback you receive will be specific to your work, so it’s a good opportunity to receive one-on-one attention to your writing.

[table "37" not found /]

Jordan RosenfeldJordan E. Rosenfeld is author of two books for writers: Make a Scene: Crafting a Powerful Story One Scene at a Time, and with Rebecca Lawton, Write Free: Attracting the Creative Life. She is a contributing editor to Writer’s Digest magazine. Her essays articles, and book reviews have also appeared in Publisher’s Weekly, the San Francisco Chronicle, St. Petersburg Times, The Writer and on KQED Radio’s California Report. She and Lawton co-edit the Write Free newsletter.  Jordan also teaches online classes through her own website: www.jordanrosenfeld.net.