Who Needs Editing? No, Really…

Speaker: Brooke Warner
Date: March 12, 2010
Times: 11 AM PST /12 PM MST / 1 PM CST /2 PM EST

Cost: FREE FOR NAMW MEMBERS (you will receive the call information via email as the event draws near)

Do you wish to become an NAMW Member? Click here to become a member now!

This teleseminar for our NAMW members will present several issues that arise when writing a memoir. A significant issue is to understand when the book simply needs to go through more layers of the writing process, and when it needs to be edited. We will address how self-editing and micro-analyzing every sentence you write is a hindrance to completing your work, and why, after you’ve completed your manuscript, you’re not really done.
This conversation is chock-full of strategies for writers at various stages of their projects. It’s both permission-giving and a reality check. Every writer needs to learn when to ignore the voice whispering that it’s not good enough and when to be open to outside feedback.

Writing is the most subjective enterprise most of us will ever delve into, and the boundary between staying true to yourself and being open to feedback that will truly benefit your book can be a very tense place to hang out.

We will also discuss the following questions:

  • What’s the difference between developmental editing and copyediting?
  • When should I seek outside help?
  • How do I know if I’m being overedited?
  • Should every writer get editorial help?
  • How do I know when it’s good enough?

Brooke Warner is a Senior Editor at Seal Press and a writing coach and publishing consultant with ten years’ experience in book publishing. She helps writers through the completion of their book proposals and manuscripts. She offers writing coaching and professional publishing consulting to a broad range of clients who are looking to build their author platforms, better understand the complicated world of publishing, and get published. Brooke works with novelists, memoirists, screenplay writers, poets, and artists.

Read more about Brooke and Warner Coaching at www.warnercoaching.com