NAMW Spring 2011 Day-Long Memoir Writing Telesummit Expert Presenter Line-up

5 Sessions on the Topic of Creative Nonfiction and Memoir—Craft, Ethics, and Process

Attend live or receive streaming audio of each session just for signing up!

Event: National Association of Memoir Writers Day-Long 2011 Spring Tele-summit

Topic: Creative Nonfiction and Memoir—Craft, Ethics, and Process

Cost: FREE–[popup url=”http://www.namw.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/namwtssignup.html”]CLICK HERE TO REGISTER [/popup]
Date: Friday April 8, 2011
Time: 10 AM PDT-4 PM PDT

Please join us for our annual free National Association of Memoir Writers Spring Tele-Summit on Friday April 8, 2011! At NAMW, we know it’s important to connect with a community of talented writers, marketers, editors, and publishers as you develop your knowledge of writing craft.

The following topics, and much more, will be part of the discussion at the 2011 Spring NAMW
Day-Long Writing Teleconference.

  • What is creative nonfiction?
  • Which is more likely to be published in a literary journal—creative nonfiction or
  • memoir.
  • Should memoirists shape their work toward the creative nonfiction genre?
  • Is creative nonfiction and personal essay the same thing?
  • How did this genre develop?
  • What kinds of skills should I learn about to make my memoir more publishable?
  • Can memoir chapters be published as short stories or creative nonfiction pieces?

We’ve summarized each of the sessions below and more details can be found by following the link for each specific session in the table near the bottom of this page.

We’ve assembled some of the best and the brightest talent for this exciting one-day event!

We hope that you can participate live on the phone with us, but in case you can’t, each session of this entirely telephone based tele-summit will be recorded.  By signing up below you will receive a link to STREAM audio recordings of each session within a few days following the completion of the last session.  And if you are an NAMW member, you’ll have access to each of the audio recordings in mp3 format to download and listen to at your leisure on your computer or portable device!

You can participate in any or all of the sessions, LIVE, via telephone or receive the link to stream the audio recordings of each session by simply [popup url=”http://www.namw.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/namwtssignup.html”]CLICKING HERE TO SIGN UP.[/popup]

We look forward to having you join us for this wonderful, informative day with professionals.  If you have any questions about this event, please contact us at info@namw.org!

Topic
Time
Speaker
Session Length
Audio Recording
Session1
Legal and Ethical Issues in Creative Nonfiction and Memoir10:00 AM PDT | 11:00 AM MDT | Noon CDT | 1:00 EDTRobert Pimm, Attorney-at-law with more than 25 years experience in the book industry working with authors, publishers, book distribution, book production, book retailing and literary agencies1 Hour


Session2
Fearless Confessions in Creative Nonfiction11:15 AM PDT | 12:15 PM MDT | 1:15 PM CDT | 2:15 PM EDTSue Silverman, Author of Fearless Confessions: A Writer's Guide to Memoir and author of two memoirs. Because I Remember Terror, Father, I Remember You, which won the Association of Writers and Writing Programs Award Series in Creative Nonfiction. Her memoir, Love Sick: One Woman's Journey Through Sexual Addiction, was made into a Lifetime TV Original Movie 1 Hour


Session3
Creative Nonfiction in the Publishing World12:30 PM PDT | 1:30 PM MDT | 2:30 PM CDT | 3:30 PM EDTBrooke Warner, Senior Editor at Seal Press and a writing coach and publishing consultant with eleven years’ experience in book publishing.1 Hour


Session4
Writing Creative Nonfiction and Memoir—A Journey to the Self1:45 PM PDT | 2: 45 PM MDT | 3: 45 PM CDT | 4:45 PM EDTKathleen Adams, best-selling author, speaker, psychotherapist and visionary1 Hour


Session5
Finding Truths by Writing Personal Essays3:00 PM PDT | 4:00 PM MDT | 5:00 PM CDT | 6:00 PM EDTSheila Bender, writing instructor, poet, essayist, author and publisher of WritingItReal.com1 Hour


[popup url=”http://www.namw.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/namwtssignup.html”]CLICKING HERE TO SIGN UP.[/popup]