National Association of Memoir Writers June 15 Teleseminar

We have a special date for our member teleconference this month–Friday, June 15!

We meet at the usual times: 11  AM PDT   12 PM  MDT   1 PM CDT   2 PM  EDT

We welcome Dan Curtis, a personal historian. His blog offers many tips to help people find out more history from family members, and preserve memories. He will talk to us about the ways you can learn from the skills and techniques of personal historians to help you write your memoir, and he will talk to us about the difference between a personal history and a memoir.

Personal historians are skilled in their ability to unlock the stories from an individual’s life. Your memoir will be enriched by the stories you discover when you interview those family members, friends, and acquaintances who have been involved in different aspects of your life.

In this teleclass you will learn:

  • How personal histories differ from memoirs
  • Techniques to help unlock memories
  • How to put an interviewee at ease
  • Ways to improve your listening skills
  • Interviewing a challenging subject
  • How to avoid interviewing pitfalls

 _________________________________________________________

Dan Curtis is a personal historian, an award-winning documentary filmmaker, an adult educator, and a certified life coach. He assists people who want to preserve  family stories so their treasured memories can be saved for future generations. He offers a wide range of services, which include creating Video Memoirs and Personal History Books as well as offering workshops on writing personal histories and ethical wills.

He is the author of the blog Dan Curtis ~ Professional Personal Historian. It archives over 500 articles on the practice of being a personal historian. Dan is a member of the Association of Personal Historians and the Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association.