National Association of Memoir Writers Free Telesummit

Session Five

3PM PST  4PM MST  5 PM CST  6 PM EST                         

 

 

 

 

                                                                                             

 

 

 

 

How do you figure out what publishing direction is best for you and your book given all the options that are available today? What is hybrid publishing anyway? Kamy Wicoff and Brooke Warner, cofounders of She Writes Press, a new publishing solution for women writers, will discuss why they think self-publishing is a viable and savvy option for writers, and why it especially makes sense for writers who don’t have a platform.

Learn about:
•The various kinds of self-publishing options now available to authors: “true” self-publishing; subsidy publishing; and hybrid options.

•Why Kamy and Brooke are both choosing to self-publish their own books without trying to go the traditional route first.

•The trend toward self-publishing and why it makes sense for a lot of authors.

•What it means to be an entrepreneurial author and why you need to have this mindset in place well before you publish your book.

•Why Kamy and Brooke are so passionate about community and building a platform for women writers.

Bios:

Kamy Wicoff, Founder, is the founder of She Writes.com. She is the author of the bestselling book I Do But I Don’t: Why The Way We Marry Matters, and co-founder of Salon of Women Writers, an international group with branches in New York, London, and San Francisco. She serves on the board of directors of Girls Write Now, and is a member of the Advisory Council at the Clayman Institute for Gender Research, one of the nation’s most distinguished research organizations devoted to the study of gender, housed at her alma mater, Stanford University. She has appeared on NPR, CBS Sunday Morning, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and other major media outlets as an author and publishing industry expert.

Brooke Warner, Publisher, is the founder and president of Warner Coaching Inc., where she specializes in helping writers get published. In her thirteen years in the publishing industry, including seven-and-a-half years as Executive Editor at Seal Press, Brooke shepherded over 500 books through the publication process. Brooke’s expertise is in traditional and new publishing, and she is a champion of all writers committed to making their dream of publishing a book a reality. Brooke’s website recently won an award from the Association of Independent Authors for Best Website for Independent Authors. She co-mentors memoirists in her biannual course, Write Your Memoir in Six Months, and sits on the board of the National Association of Memoir Writers and She Writes.com. She is the author of What’s Your Book? A Step-by-Step Guide to Get You from Inspiration to Published Author.

Websites:

www.shewritespress.com

www.shewrites.com