headshot nestor

Join us for this NAMW Member Teleseminar November 22, 2013

11 PM PST  12 PM MST  1 PM CST  2 PM EST

 

Writing a memoir is a complex task that asks us to weave truth, story, craft, and our own vulnerability as writers. And not only that, we have to learn how to reach out to the reader, we need to create a narrator that is relatable and real so the reader can identify with the us as narrators, and learns a universal message from our memoir. When all this is done with the right balance, we create a story that is personal, true, and marketable.

 In this teleseminar, memoirist and award-winning instructor, Theo Pauline Nestor will walk you through five essential secrets of writing a marketable memoir.

  • Finding and defining your true material
  • Making yourself vulnerable on the page
  • Underscoring the drama of your story
  • Sharing wisdom
  • Illuminating the universal story in your individual experience.

Bio:
Theo Pauline Nestor is the author of Writing Is My Drink: A Writer’s Story of Finding Her Voice (And a Guide to How You Can Too) (Simon & Schuster, 2013) and How to Sleep Alone in a King-Size Bed: A Memoir of Starting Over (Crown, 2008), which was selected by Kirkus Reviews as a 2008 Top Pick for Reading Groups and as a Target “Breakout Book.” An award-winning instructor, Nestor has taught the memoir certificate course for the University of Washington’s Professional & Continuing Education program since 2006. Nestor also produces events for writers such as the Wild Mountain Memoir Retreat and the Black Mesa Writers’ Intensive, featuring talks by literary leaders such as Cheryl Strayed, Julia Cameron, and Natalie Goldberg.