Date: January 23, 2015

Kathleen-AdamsTime: 11 AM PST  12 PM MST  1 PM CST  2 PM EST

Guest Speakers: Kay Adams and Deborah Ross

If you are a member, log-in to get the call information or listen to the recording. If you are not a member, join today to get full membership benefits.

We’re so pleased to start the new year with a member teleseminar that addresses some of the basic realities of how “story” lives inside us, and how your brain and your writing are connected. It’s our job as writers to learn how to create the magic of story by understanding how to create a story world where your readers can feel and sense it fully. That’s the intersection between writing and neurobiology. So join us for a fascinating conversation that will help you bring your writing to another level.

Did you know that you can enrich the transformative power of story simply by using your attention as a spotlight? Or that creativity does, in fact, favor a relaxed mind? Or that you can use writing to shift the brain’s Velcro bias for negativity? Join two leaders of the writing-as-healing movement to discuss how the neurobiology of expressive writing can unlock more of the powerful storyteller within you.

You’ll learn:
• How writing from the senses brings memory alive
• Why meaning-making through writing is healing
• How writing can help you build resilience
• The role of attention and intention in shaping new neural pathways

Deborah RossDeborah Ross LPC, CJT studied neuroscience at the Mindsight Institute with Dr. Dan Siegel and applied her findings to therapeutic writing. An avid journaler, she recognizes the healing power of expressive writing and believes that this practice can change the way our brains work so that we experience a deeper sense of well-being and great resilience. Deborah is a licensed psychotherapist and a certified journal therapist (Therapeutic Writing Institute). Her first book, Your Brain on Ink, is a workbook co-authored with Kay Adams and will be released Fall 2015.

Kathleen (Kay) Adams LPC is the founder/director of the Center for Journal Therapy and its professional training division, the on-line Therapeutic Writing Institute. She is the author/editor of ten books on therapeutic writing, including the best-selling Journal to the Self and Expressive Writing: Foundations of Practice. In an internet poll, Kay was listed (with Anais Nin and Anne Frank) as one of the three top influencers in personal writing.

If you are a member, log-in to get the call information or listen to the recording. If you are not a member, join today to get full membership benefits.