NAMW February Member Teleseminar
Jerry Waxler
February  23, 2018
11 AM PST  | 12pm MST | 1pm CST  | 2pm EST

Aspiring memoir writers often fear that revealing secrets will awaken dark aspects of their psyche. These fears can choke off your voice, and leave you stranded with unaddressed regrets, disappointments, or anger–factors that create roadblocks to your writing. They’re also challenges to healing and moving forward in your life.

In this talk, we’ll discuss strategies and attitudes to help you navigate through the landmines of your own fears and explore new ways to forge ahead, crafting your memories into powerful stories.

In fact, breaking through this self-imposed barrier is one of the best reasons for writing a memoir. Once you start to turn your memories into good stories, you will discover the paradox of memoir writing. Instead of separating you from your community, your authentic voice will enhance bonds between you and others. And instead of pulling you back into the past, writing a memoir can make you feel better about your journey into the future.

As the author of your own life, you will be able to gain “author-ity” over your memories, build bridges between then and now, and feel more connected with people who love and respect you.

What you will learn:

  • The dilemmas memoir writers face when they begin–secrets and silence
  • How shame interferes with your freedom and ways to break out of it
  • The inner–and outer–critics–releasing these roadblocks to your creativity
  • Learn the value of releasing the past into stories
  • Stages of silence to openness

Jerry Waxler, M.S., is an experienced memoir workshop leader and a member of the advisory board for the National Association of Memoir Writers. He is a writing coach and therapist, and the author of Memoir Revolution: A Social Shift that Uses Your Story to Heal, Connect, and Inspire, How to Become a Heroic Writer, his own memoir Thinking My Way to the End of the World, and the creator of the Memory Writers Network blog, (https://www.memorywritersnetwork.com/blog) which features over 400 essays, book reviews, stories, interviews, and writing prompts.

Subscribe to NAMW