Current List of NAMW Events:

  • Hollye new headshot Your Truth, My Truth—Whose Truth Is It in Your Memoir?
    NAMW Member Teleseminar with Hollye Dexter April 24, 2015 11 AM PDT 12 PM MDT 1 PM CDT 2 PM EDT Our story is the only thing of true value that we own, the one thing that can’t be taken from us. And yet, so many of us struggle with whether or not we have […]
  • Linda Joy Myers is speaking at the Nonfiction Writers University on March 17, 2015
    I’m happy to announce that I’m speaking for Nina Amir’s Nonfiction Writers University March 17, 3 PM PST. I’m focusing on one of the most challenging parts of writing a memoir: the Muddy Middle! The Muddy Middle—this is where you wrestle with truth, the inner critic, family and how to bring a focus and universal message to […]
  • Closeup half face portrait of girl A Noisy Guide to Podcasting – Public Roundtable
    Guest: Catharine Bramkamp Topic: A Noisy Guide to Podcasting Date: April 9, 2015 4 PST Time:  4 PM PST, 5 PM MST, 6 PM CST, 7 PM EST Do  you have a great idea?  Do want to vary your reach?  Do you love to talk?  Do you really love to talk? If you answered yes,  podcasting is […]

Upcoming Events:

Starts January 15, 2015

Writing a Healing Memoir/Spiritual Autobiography Workshop—6 Sessions with Linda Joy Myers

We all grow up with the weight of history on us. Our ancestors dwell in the attics of our brains as they do in the spiraling chains of knowledge hidden in every cell of our bodies. ~Shirley Abbott

In this workshop, we silence the noise of everyday life and dig into memories, tune into writing our stories, and learn the skills needed to write a satisfying memoir—to get all the way to “The End.”

It’s important to write freely without worrying about your inner critic or being published just yet—though that may be your ultimate goal. In order to get your memoir done, you need to feed your creative spirit, and have accountability to help get your stories on the page in a first draft.

The workshop:

  1. Send that week’s story to your classmates through email.
  2. Workshop members read and write feedback through email—reflecting on what works; offering feedback about what could be different or clarified.
  3. At class time, we gather by phone to talk about the stories—discussing what comes up as you write, your inner critic, doubts and dreams about your stories, and questions about structure. Find out in person on the call what you want to know from the group that will help you continue and develop your work.
  1. I guide the group, offer writing tips, and teach techniques that help you keep writing and learn how to grow as a writer.

Six sessions to keep your writing going!

Member Price: $250.00

add to cart button

 

 

Non-Member Price: $260.00

add to cart button

 

Also, be sure to check out our inspirational articles and guides on the NAMW blog. Learn more about our members by checking out our Member Directory or read about our NAMW Featured Members! You can also listen to audio interviews with select authors.