Emotional Wounds: Understanding the Mechanics of Psychological Pain

NAMW December Member Teleseminar Angela Ackerman December 15, 2017 11 AM PST  | 12 PM MST | 1 PM CST  | 2 PM EST While there’s a perception that books are simply a vehicle for entertaining an audience, the truth is something deeper and more meaningful: they are portals for connection. Readers are looking to gain a window into the experiences and emotions of a character who, like them, struggle...

read more

December Roundtable – FREE to All – December 7, 2017

Alexis Marie Chute Tackling the Taboo in Memoir: Why it’s worth the effort December 7, 2017 4 PM PST  5 PM MST  6 PM CST  7 PM EST Alexis Marie Chute is the author of the multi-award-winning debut memoir called Expecting Sunshine: A Journey of Grief Healing and Pregnancy After Loss (She Writes Press, April 2017). Alexis Marie will discuss the impetus behind her story and how her writing became a...

read more

How to Prepare to Write a Great First Draft in 30 Days

NAMW November Member Teleseminar Nina Amir November 17, 2017 11 AM PST  | 12 PM MST | 1 PM CST  | 2 PM EST Many of you may know that November is National LifeWriting Month, and the month of the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) challenge to write a novel, a memoir, or other long work, in 30 days. Some of you have done this before–you “win” if you complete 50,000 words in...

read more

November Roundtable – FREE to All – November 9, 2017

Leslie Lawrence An Improvisatory Approach to a Memoir about an Improvised Life November 9, 2017 4 PM PDT  5 PM MDT  6 PM CDT  7 PM EDT I’m pleased that we have as our guest Leslie Lawrence, author of The Death of Fred Astaire—and other essays from a life          outside the lines. We met spontaneously at her book reading in Santa Fe, New Mexico, where I was having tea that evening and...

read more

On Being Vulnerable: Writing From the Body Straight Into Truth & With Emotional Power

NAMW October Member Teleseminar Albert Flynn DeSilver October 20, 2017 11 AM PDT  | 12 PM MDT | 1 PM CDT  | 2 PM EDT Writing a memoir is emotionally courageous work. We need to be honest with ourselves about the endeavor. Often in the writing process we discover things we never knew, we knew. Stuff can come up, emotionally charged stuff. Some times the strong emotions can be frightening, and...

read more

Blog

Myers makes a compelling case for the power of words as a form of healing and growth.

James W. Pennebaker, Ph.D. professor of psychology, The University of Texas at Austin and author, Opening Up and Writing To Heal September 9, 2014

<< Prev
Next >>
Subscribe to NAMW